About Us

An independent board, the American Board of Certification for Gastroenterology Nurses (ABCGN), was established in 1986 to administer the program. ABCGN employs a professional testing company in the development and administration of the certification examinations.

Certification is awarded to individuals who meet eligibility criteria based on experience and who pass an examination covering a broad range of knowledge and skills relevant to their professional practice. Those individuals who achieve ABCGN certification can be recognized by a designation used after their names-CGRN. Once certified, nurses maintain their certification by recertifying every five years. Candidates may recertify either by retesting or by completing a specified program of continuing education.

Mission Statement  Strategic
Bylaws History Past Presidents

For more information regarding the ABCGN certification examination, contact ABCGN headquarters at:

330 N. Wabash Ave
Suite 2000
Chicago, IL 60611
Phone: 855/252-2246
Fax: 312/673-6723
E-Mail: info@abcgn.org

Important Dates
Recertification Deadline: December 31, 2018
2019 Spring Exam Registration Window: January 1, 2019 - February 28, 2019
Excellence in Professionalism Application Deadline: February 15, 2019
Certified Nurses Day: March 19, 2019
2019 Spring Exam Testing Window: May 1, 2019 - May 31, 2019