Awards & Scholarships

ABCGN’s awards and scholarships program support its vision to lead and promote professional excellence in the practice of gastroenterology nursing.

The following awards are available through ABCGN: 


Certified GI Professional of the Year: Nominations due November 30th

This award recognizes those who demonstrate a commitment to outstanding patient care and positive outcomes through the teaching and learning of high performance standards, advocacy for the practice of gastroenterology nursing, and leadership within their unit and the broader GI nursing community.

Excellence in Professionalism Distinction: Applications due November 30th

This distinction recognizes nurses who have demonstrated commitment to excellence by validation of qualifications through certification.


Outstanding Certified Region: Applications due November 30th

This award recognizes the SGNA Regional Society most active in supporting ABCGN certification.

Certification Scholarship 

The ABCGN Certification Scholarship provides financial assistance for the certification exam.

  • Fall Exam: Applications due March 10th
  • Spring Exam: Applications due November 30

Re-certification Scholarship: Due November 30th

The ABCGN Re-certification Scholarship provides financial assistance for recertification by contact hours. Applicants must apply the same year their recertification application is due.


To ensure the application process is as easy as possible all forms can be filled out directly and saved to your PC. You can then complete your application and email it to