Achieve Your CGRN Certification

Certification is awarded to individuals who meet eligibility criteria based on experience and who pass an examination covering a broad range of knowledge and skills relevant to their professional practice. 


Those individuals who achieve ABCGN certification can be recognized by a designation used after their names – CGRN. Once certified, nurses maintain their certification by re-certifying every five years. Candidates may re-certify either by retesting or by completing a specified program of continuing education.

ABCGN's Certified Gastroenterology Registered Nurse (CGRN) credential has been accredited by the Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification (ABSNC).ABSNC Logo

Why Certify?

  • Expand your role in providing patient services
  • Demonstrate your commitment to your profession
  • Improve patient care
  • Achieve greater satisfaction in your chosen profession
  • Accelerate career growth

2018 Certification Statistics

The number of candidates taking the CGRN in 2018 totaled 534 candidates. Of the 534 taking the exam, 376 (70.5%) passed and received the CGRN designation.