Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification (ABSNC)

ABCGN is accredited for its CGRN certification program by the Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification (ABSNC). Accreditation status is granted for five years.

ABSNC is the standard-setting body for specialty nursing certification programs and offers a stringent and comprehensive accreditation process. ABCGN provided extensive documentation demonstrating that it has met the 18 ABNS standards of quality. Using the analogy that ABSNC is to nursing certification organizations that JCAHO is to hospitals is apropos.

What does ABSNC accreditation mean for those interested in becoming CGRN certified or those already certified? It means that a nationally recognized accrediting body has determined that the CGRN credential is based on a valid and reliable testing process and that the structures in place to administer the examinations meet and even exceed the standards of the certification industry from a legal, regulatory and association management perspective. This is a testament to the public about the quality of an individual nurse's certification credential(s).

Certification, as defined by the American Board for Specialty Nursing Certification (ABSNC), is the formal recognition of the specialized knowledge, skills, and experience demonstrated by the achievement of standards identified by a nursing specialty to promote optimal health outcomes. ABSNC believes that the increasingly complex patient/client needs within the current health care delivery system are best met when registered nurses, certified in specialty practice, provide nursing care. This accreditation from ABSNC recognizes the value of our certification program and the CGRN credential. 

For additional information on accreditation, visit ABNS.

Important Dates - Home
Recertification Deadline: December 31, 2018
2019 Spring Exam Registration Window: January 1, 2019 - February 28, 2019
Excellence in Professionalism Application Deadline: February 15, 2019
Certified Nurses Day: March 19, 2019
2019 Spring Exam Testing Window: May 1, 2019 - May 31, 2019